top of page

Getting On With It: A Writer's Ramblings

I've always appreciated a good, solid handshake.

In fact being on the receiving end of an insipid, half-assed, I-might-break-you type of greeting has always irritated me - surely I can't be alone in this. You know, they grab the tips of your fingers and just sort of wave them up and down a bit. Awful.

However, it never occurred to me until recently just how painful a proper handshake could be. Damn these swollen knuckles.

Damn them to hell!!!

You see, the problem with Rheumatoid Arthritis (RA) in its early stages is that it’s invisible. I know you’re reading this and saying, ‘careful what you wish for.’

If you've Googled Rheumatoid Arthritis (RA), invisible is the best you could ask for but that also allows for its own set of problems. Cue the handshake scenario.

Don't get me wrong, I'm not delighted at the prospect that my fingers may become so gnarled that I won’t need to have a t-shirt made up, "Having RA and lovin’ it!"

However, the challenge here is how to protect myself and when to speak up.

So when I do speak up, the other frustration is that as a disease, RA is not well understood. Already I’m fed up with people only hearing the word arthritis and saying things like, "Oh, I've had arthritis for years. You'll be right." If they’re referring to Osteoarthritis, it’s not the same thing but I know that people can suffer terribly with this type of arthritic pain too.

Stop being flippant people - it really doesn't help.

What is Rheumatoid Arthritis?

Rheumatoid Arthritis (RA) is a chronic and progressive autoimmune disease that causes pain and swelling of the joints. The normal role of a body's immune system is to fight off infections but when affected it will attack healthy tissue instead, targeting the lining of the joints, causing inflammation and joint damage. Vital organs can also be affected in worst case scenarios.

It is the second most common form of arthritis affecting nearly half a million Australians - 57 per cent of those are women.

That's some scary stats.

So I’ve removed my Google Doctor hat for now, replaced it with a soldier’s combat helmet and I have a temporary plan of attack. You see, although I am a realist, I am not a defeatist. I will not let this diagnosis get in my way; will not let it beat me.

Here’s my arsenal:

  • Omega 3 (fish oil) - good for joint inflammation (so I bought the biggest bottle I could find)

  • Ibuprofen - which I intend to use sparingly to protect my stomach (let’s test the pain barrier)

  • Small 1kg hand weights - to assist in strengthening the muscles in my arms.

  • Exercise – karate, swimming, walking and generally doing my best to keep active (pain permitting)

  • Goal setting - Despite the pain in my hands and elbows worsening, I will continue to write and finish my third novel.

  • Even though sometimes I can barely walk and some activities I will no longer be able to do, I will continue with my karate journey and aim for black belt assessment as originally planned for late next year

  • Rest - I will listen to my body, respect its wishes and rest when I need to

  • Positive outlook - I know I can do this. I have a family that needs me and being needed can be a powerful driving force.

Locked and loaded, ready for battle.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page